Start typing to search

You can also hit “Enter” on your keyboard to submit your query.

0
What's on

0
Everything Else

#VISITBALLARAT

What’s on in Ballarat this summer

Visit Ballarat

13 Nov 2023

Filed underSee & Do

From live music to exhibitions, rodeos and markets, here is your guide to the best of what’s on in Ballarat this summer.

Summer Sundays at the Ballarat Botanical Gardens

December

  • Western United vs Wellington Phoenix at Mars Stadium (Saturday 2 December at 5:30pm)
  • Wild Mount Trail Run in the Pyrenees (Saturday 2 December)
  • Spilt Milk at Victoria Park (Saturday 2 December)
  • Bjorn Again – Thank ABBA for the music at Civic Hall (Saturday 2 December at 8pm)
  • Fairy and Unicorn weekend at Kryal Castle (Saturday 2 December until Sunday 3 December)
  • Whisky on the Goldfields – Song stories and tasting with Amie Brulee at Kilderkin Distillery (Friday 8 December from 4:30pm)
  • 2023 Sportsbet Ballarat Cup at the Ballarat Turf Club (Saturday 9 December)
  • A Day in the Garden at Mount Mitchell Estate (Saturday 9 December at 9am)
  • 154th Kingston Agricultural Show in Hepburn (Saturday 9 December until Sunday 10 December)
  • Tasmanian Devil Day at the Ballarat Wildlife Park (Sunday 10 December)
  • High Tea at Narmbool (Sunday 10 December at 2pm)
  • Twilight Christmas Market at Lake Wendouree (Friday 15 December from 4pm)
  • Twilight Friday at the Ballarat Wildlife Park (Friday 15 December from 5.45pm-8.30pm)
  • Santa at Kryal Castle (Saturday 16 December until Sunday 17 December)
  • Ozact’s As You Like It at Kirks Reservoir (26-27 December)
  • Summer of magic at Sovereign Hill (26 December-29 January)
Spilt Milk – Image credit: Jordan Kmunns

January

  • Federation University Road National Championships (Wednesday 3 January until Sunday 7 January)
  • Summer Sundays at the Ballarat Botanical Gardens (every Sunday in January from 4pm)
  • Ballarat Fireworks Spectacular at Lake Wendouree (Sunday 14 January at 9.30pm)
  • Open artist studios in Haddon (Thursday 4 January until Sunday 7 January)
  • Ballarat Rodeo at Kryal Castle (Saturday 6 January from 10am)
  • Gin blending masterclass at Mrs Baker’s Still House (Sunday 21 January at 11am)
Federation University Road National Championships

February

  • Whereabouts: Printmakers Respond at the Art Gallery of Ballarat (until Sunday 4 February)
  • Charley Crocket with Emma Donovan and Sweet Talk at Ballarat Civic Hall (Friday 9 February)
  • Urban Wine Walk in the Ballarat CBD (Saturday 10 February)
  • Significant Others at the Art Gallery of Ballarat (until Sunday 11 February)
  • Jimmy Rees at Ballarat Civic Hall (Friday 16 February)
  • Bohemian Summer Festival in Ballan (Friday 16 February until Sunday 18 February)
  • Leila Jeffreys: Nature is not a place to visit. It is a home at the Art Gallery of Ballarat (until Sunday 23 February)
  • Layers of Blak at the Art Gallery of Ballarat (until Sunday 10 March)

For a full calendar of events, click here.

Across Victoria’s Midwest, we acknowledge that we travel across the ancient landscapes of many First Peoples communities.

These lands have been nurtured and cared for over tens of thousands of years and we respect the work of Traditional Custodians for their ongoing care and protection.

We recognise the past injustices against Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples in this country. As our knowledge grows, we hope that we can learn from their resilience and creativity that has guided them for over 60,000 years.

As we invite people to visit and explore Victoria’s Midwest, we ask that alongside us, you also grow to respect the stories, living culture and connection to Country of the Ancestors and Elders of our First Peoples.